Learning to sleep in.

 

After almost two weeks of being in New York, I’m learning to sleep in.

She is such a vibrant city;
fast-paced, colourful, hyperactive, addictive.
I’m slowly peering out from under my shell
but keeping it on for warmth and shelter from the unknown.

For now.

I like to listen to people on the subway.
I’m an extra in a movie as I eavesdrop
on babes from The Bronx talking about their cheating men
and how they’ll catch them out on Facebook.

We live on rice crackers and free wine
and sleep on a thin single mattress
We will look back on this era as being
the good times.

We try to cherish the (un)comfort.

Most days, I carry a pendant around my neck
with a note in it written by a dear friend on blood red paper
which says…
 “Just a little reminder that you are loved by loads of people everywhere,
even if we aren’t close by you are always in our thoughts.”

You are always in mine.

 

About Emma Dean

Singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, performer, director, lover, sister, daughter, choir mistress, vegetable fanatic. For more info: www.emmadean.com www.facebook.com/emmadeanmusic www.twitter.com/emmadean_music
This entry was posted in Emma Dean Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learning to sleep in.

  1. Pingback: While You Were Sleeping (Full Movie) | iBiabia

  2. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

