Take My Love (a love experiment and a live recording)

I decided to conduct a love experiment so I invited three humans into a space to record a song I wrote about a recent, raw heartbreak…

The humans:

1. One of my dearest friends who has held my heart so gently and lovingly for many years
2. Someone who helped to heal many heartbreaks of all kinds from the other side of the world
3. An ex love who broke my heart who I hadn’t seen in a long time

Many friends wrote to me telling me they were a bit concerned and thought I might be crazy. Ha! Me? Crazy? Never. One friend even told me that she thought I’d put myself in a situation that she would have avoided at all costs!

And I don’t blame her.

After all, I was singing a duet with someone who broke my heart about someone else who broke my heart. That’s a little bit weird…

But instead of the cracks getting bigger, I felt my heart slowly getting stuck back together with magical, musical love-putty.

The call was so strong. So I followed it.

And I’m so pleased I did.

The results came in:

– time heals
– love is a (fucking brave) choice, not a lightening bolt
– ^so is happiness
– it IS possible to be friends with an ex
– music can bring people together (again)
– singing is soul food
– there is a place and time for forgiveness

To download the track for free click on this link! 

Thank you so much to Hayden Robins for the incredible work you put into this track and for being my weirdo genius friend. Thank you to Laura Driver for your sublime musicality, sisterhood and general hotness. Thank you to Dane Pollock for your friendship, extra harmonies and videoing.

Thank you to all three of you crazy humans for being open to this project. I love you.

Lyrics:

i am a river
and upon me
i can feel you sail away
but i just get deeper
i get deeper
and you’re paddling the wrong way
oh the mouth
where the rip can pull you
down underneath
down underneath

take my love
take my love
i will not let you drown
take my love
just take my love
i’ve got enough for the two of us
i would rather see you swim to shore
and never sail here anymore
take my love
just take my love
it’s safer on the ground

i am a sailor
i’m a sailor
always moving with the flow
i am a painter
alligator
and you won’t even know
that one minute i’ll be floating
and the next i’ll be down below
down below

take my love
take my love
i will not let you drown
take my love
just take my love
i’ve got enough for the two of us
i would rather see you swim to shore
and never sail here anymore
take my love
just take my love
it’s safer on the ground

but do you remember?

take my love
take my love
i will not let you drown
take my love
just take my love
i’ve got enough for the two of us
i would rather see you swim to shore
and never sail here anymore
take my love
just take my love
it’s safer on the ground
take my love
just take my love
it’s safer on the ground
take my love
just take my love
and do not turn around

Music and Lyrics by Emma Dean
Sung by Emma Dean and Hayden Robins
Cello by Laura Driver
Additional harmonies by Dane Pollock
Videoed by Dane Pollock and Hayden Robins
Mixed and Recorded by Hayden Robins
Video edited by Hayden Robins (technical and creative brain) and Emma Dean (creative brain only)

THE END. x

About Emma Dean

Singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, performer, director, lover, sister, daughter, choir mistress, vegetable fanatic. For more info: www.emmadean.com www.facebook.com/emmadeanmusic www.twitter.com/emmadean_music
This entry was posted in Emma Dean Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

