New York #2: I just had the best date ever!

You know, it really is the simple things that electrify me, tune me in and make me feel alive.

Before I go on, I should confess that the title of this blog is misleading.

It wasn’t actually a date.

More of an accidental outing.

Or rather, a walk.

With my brother, Tony.

So, 60 minutes ago we’re on the C Train when my phone rings (which is strange because there usually ain’t no reception down in those Manhattan metro tunnels) and it’s Kate Lee saying “Emma, Emma the show is off!!”

We were scheduled to see an operatic, loop pedaling, original music performance at the famous Bleecker St venue, The Bitter End (yes that is Stephanie Germanotta before she became Lady Gaga) but at the very last moment it had been cancelled due to scheduling problems.

So Tony and I got off the subway and instead of getting on the opposite train, I accidentally walked us out of the station. We were on 72nd and our apartment was on 107th – that’s a pretty long walk in heels – but I decided to take this opportunity to do something I’ve always wanted to do, and instead of hopping back on the subway, I did THIS.

For those of you who can’t be arsed watched that scene from the movie Begin Again, basically I gave one of my earphones to Tony and we took turns at making a playlist which I so eloquently called “The Poo Face Playlist”. Artists included: Ingrid Michaelson, Cerys Matthews, Carly Rae Jepsen, The Boat People, Lady Gaga, Crowded House, Ke$ha, HAIM, INXS and then somewhere between Joy Division and Bon Jovi we both transformed into those people you see on the subway singing terribly, out loud to the music on their Ipod – those people I giggle about to myself, but secretly love and admire…so much.

IMG_1094

And then I suddenly remembered.

This transformation happened last time I lived in New York! I went from someone who cared very much about what people thought, to someone who realised that everyone in this city is too fucking busy to really give that much of a shit what you do as you strut along Central Park West. And there is something liberating and beautiful about that.

I guess when you live in a city of 8 million or so people it’s easy to feel like you’re not being heard, or not being seen…

So perhaps that’s when we just have to sing louder, dance harder and begin again.

So forgive me father, it has been a year since I last sang ‘Living On a Prayer’ at the top of my lungs on the streets of New York City and enjoyed every out of tune, scratchy, breathless moment of it.

Woah, we’re half way there
Woah, livin’ on a prayer
Take my hand, we’ll make it I swear
Woah, livin’ on a prayer

I assure you, I won’t forget again.

X

PS: Come and see us play at Rockwood Music Hall, Stage One, 6pm on Sat 16 May!! For a full list of our other US shows please visit http://www.emmaandthehungrytruth.com

About Emma Dean

Singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, performer, director, lover, sister, daughter, choir mistress, vegetable fanatic. For more info: www.emmadean.com www.facebook.com/emmadeanmusic www.twitter.com/emmadean_music
This entry was posted in Emma Dean Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

