New York #3: A Day in NYC (aka I just got mauled by a dog on the corner of 80th and Broadway)

a short poem titled…

a day in nyc (aka i just got mauled by a dog on the corner of 80th and broadway)

after coffee with david
a young man named nathan gives me a hand massage at lush
i walk out with my forearms smelling of ‘karma’
yes, this is the name of a scent
karma
one minute later
a big black dog leaps on me from nowhere in a fierce attack
wrapping his or her sharp teeth around my forearm
it happened so suddenly and i am hurting
but i think to myself in that split second
oh no! my forearms have never smelled better
this littler fucker better not bite my arm off
dog releases grip after owner yanks on the leash
i am in shock
horror
rattled
could i sue? is this what happens in america?
tell me more
no one even stops or asks if i am ok
i continue to walk home
put up a facebook status so i feel less alone (weird, i know)
ten minutes later i turn down a street i never walk down
and yoko ono brushes shoulders with me
before this we lock eyes (at least i think we do, behind her big black glasses)
as i walk away my eyes fill with tears
karma. did i mention that? what the actual fuck?
being mauled by a dog is still better than being vomited on by a drunk man on the subway at 1am.

the end.

1258295105080

 

About Emma Dean

Singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, performer, director, lover, sister, daughter, choir mistress, vegetable fanatic. For more info: www.emmadean.com www.facebook.com/emmadeanmusic www.twitter.com/emmadean_music
This entry was posted in Emma Dean Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New York #3: A Day in NYC (aka I just got mauled by a dog on the corner of 80th and Broadway)

  1. Monica says:

    Eek! How awful. And completely mad. New York, hey?

Leave a Reply

