Exhale The Damage

a song; a work in progress…

i have learned it’s okay to be sorry
as i lay in the ground covered in soil
as the insects whisper sweet little nothings
as the monsters escape from the boil

i am now laying in total silence
and my body melts into the earth
i am none of the words that i said once
i am only the feelings they’re worth

one last breath
as i exhale the damage i’ve held to my chest
one last breath
as i exhale the damage i’ve held to my chest

tell my mother and father i love them
tell my brother that he’ll see the world
tell my lover i wish that he’d told me
what his eyes said, just only in words

and i know that i’ve held on too tightly
and i search for some colours unseen
but i never found love all that frightening
until i woke up from this dream

one last breath
as i exhale the damage i’ve held to my chest
one last breath
as i exhale the damage i’ve held to my chest7a2f911e61fc52013fbdf5b40fff03ac

About Emma Dean

Singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, performer, director, lover, sister, daughter, choir mistress, vegetable fanatic. For more info: www.emmadean.com www.facebook.com/emmadeanmusic www.twitter.com/emmadean_music
This entry was posted in Emma Dean Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Exhale The Damage

  1. Emma Bear says:

    Beautiful. Thank you for bringing a little poetry to my day 🙂

    >

  2. Monica says:

    So beautiful. Like always.

Leave a Reply

